SULLIVAN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' MEETING

The meeting of the Sullivan County Commissioners was called to order at 10:00 a.m. on the above date by Chair Brian Hoffman. Attending were Commissioner Brian Hoffman, Commissioner Darlene Fenton, Commissioner Donna Iannone, Solicitor Kenneth Levitzky, Deputy Chief Clerk Hope Verelst, Treasurer Katrina Wilkins, Sheriff Bob Montgomery, John Shoemaker from the Sullivan Review and Mr. and Mrs. Jim White.

Those present recited the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion to approve the minutes of the December 14, 2021, Commissioners' meeting. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fenton and unanimously carried.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion to approve a CDBG-CV FFY 2020 budget revision as follows:

EMS Disinfection Systems	\$44,865.00
Change	(18,951.00)
Revised Budget	\$25,914.00
Peter's Lumber	\$-0-
Change	<u>\$18,951.00</u>
Revised Budget	\$18,951.00

The motion was second by Commissioner Fenton and unanimously carried.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion to approve the 2022 Sullivan County Budget. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fenton and unanimously carried. Commissioner Iannone noted there is no tax increase for 2022.

Commissioner Fenton made a motion to approve an agreement between Sullivan County and Forksville Borough to have the Sullivan County Treasurer be appointed with the duties and responsibilities of billing and collecting all taxes levied upon and within the Borough of Forksville from January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2025. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Iannone and unanimously carried.

Commissioner Fenton made a motion to approve an agreement between Sullivan County and Dushore Borough to have the Sullivan County Treasurer be appointed with the duties and responsibilities of billing and collecting all taxes levied upon and within the Borough of Dushore from January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2025. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Iannone and unanimously carried.

Commissioner Fenton made a motion to approve Resolution 2021-8 appointing the Sullivan County Treasurer to have the duties and responsibilities of billing and collecting all taxes levied upon and within the Borough of Forksville from January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2025. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Iannone and unanimously carried.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion to approve Resolution 2021-9 appointing the Sullivan County Treasurer to have the duties and responsibilities of billing and collecting all taxes levied upon and within the Borough of Dushore from January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2025. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fenton and unanimously carried.

Commissioner Fenton made a motion to approve amendments to the Sullivan County Personnel Policy effective this date regarding loaned emergency sick leave for new employees and updates to the purchasing policy. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Iannone and unanimously carried.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion to approve the signing of proposed settlements in relation to the National Opioid Settlement with McKesson Corporation, Cardinal Health Inc. AND AmerisourceBergen Corporation and Johnson & Johnson, Janssen Pharmaceuticals Inc., Ortho-Moneil-Janssen Pharmaceuticals Inc., and Janssen Pharmaceutica Inc. (collectively "Janssen") including participation forms and Pennsylvania Intrastate Allocation participation forms for each. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fenton and unanimously carried. Commissioner Iannone noted with this settlement the county would receive \$1 million over 18 years for drug and alcohol treatment. Solicitor Levitzky noted County Commissioners Association of PA attorneys have reviewed the proposed settlement and are recommending acceptance.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion to approve the amended 2021 Sullivan County Room Tax Distribution of \$23,218.20 as presented and recommended by the Room Tax Committee. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fenton and unanimously carried. Commissioner Iannone and Treasurer Wilkins noted the room tax grant comes from a 3% room tax collected in the county, and this year the county was able to distribute the largest amount of grant funds to date.

Commissioner Fenton made a motion to appoint Commissioner Donna Iannone to the Sullivan County Room Tax Committee for a one-year term ending December 31, 2022. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hoffman and passed 2 - 0 with Commissioner Iannone abstaining.

Commissioner Fenton made a motion to appoint Harry Strausser and John Brownback to the Sullivan County Room Tax Committee for three-year terms ending December 31, 2024. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Iannone and unanimously carried. Commissioner Iannone thanked the appointees for their willingness to serve.

Commissioner Fenton made a motion to appoint Robert Getz to the BeST Transit Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2024. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Iannone and unanimously carried. Commissioner Hoffman noted Mr. Getz has graciously agreed to serve on this board since his retirement as County Commissioner and has played a big role moving public transportation forward in the county.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion to appoint Commissioner Brian Hoffman to the BeST Transit Board for a one-year term ending December 31, 2022. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fenton and passed 2 - 0 with Commissioner Hoffman abstaining.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion upon recommendation of Children & Youth Director Lisa Wilcox to appoint Maureen Myers, Betty Curtin, Laura Fiester and Megan Bohensky to the Children & Youth Advisory Board for a three-year term ending December 31, 2024. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fenton and unanimously carried. Commissioner Iannone thanked the appointees for their willingness to serve on the board.

Commissioner Fenton made a motion to acknowledge the appointments of Richard Ryan as Farmer Director and JoAnn Day as Public Director to the Sullivan County Conservation Board by the State Conservation Committee with terms ending December 31, 2025. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Iannone and unanimously carried.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion to acknowledge the appointment of Brian Hoffman as Commissioner Director to the Sullivan County Conservation Board by the State Conservation Committee with a term ending December 31, 2022. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fenton and passed 2 - 0 with Commissioner Hoffman abstaining.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion to acknowledge the hiring of Goran Lazarevic as Deputy Sheriff I effective December 28, 2021. This is a full-time position with benefits after the successful completion of a 60-day probationary period. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fenton and unanimously carried.

Commissioner Iannone made a motion to pay current invoices in the amount of \$15,519.88. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Fenton and unanimously carried.

Public Comment: Jim White requested an update on Rural Health coming to the Sullivan County Medical Center. Commissioner Iannone stated Rural Health is waiting on Federal Qualified Health Center status and will be ready to begin operations approximately two months after receiving that status.

Information: Treasurer Wilkinson stated the Treasurer's office should have the ability to accept property tax payments via credit card from Dushore and Forksville Boroughs early in 2022.

There being no additional business to discuss, Commissioner Fenton made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:18 a.m.

Sullivan County Commissioners

Attest:

Brian Hoffman, Chair

Hope Verelst, Deputy Chief Clerk

Darlene Fenton, Vice Chair

Donna Iannone, Commissioner